Krausmueller.de

Ansible role hass for installing Home Assistant

As described in the last article I use the manual installation of Home Assistant. To get a system up and runing very quick I prefer to use Ansible. For the installatino of Home Assistant I wrote a role. You can find my Ansible role on Github. In the same repository (in the near future) you can also find some other roles which might be useful when installing Home Assistant. The variables whcih can be used to configure the role are described in the README of the role.

Read more →

Introduction to Home Assistant and installation variants

My first encounter with home automation was to measure temperatures and later switching power sockets working with 433 MHz radio these and these). To be able to view the temperatures and to control the outlets I wrote a small web server in python. But To do real home automation it is better to use a system which is already used by many people and you have some kind of community who can help you if there are problems. My choice for this is Home Assistant.

Screenshot meiner Home Assistant Installation

Home Assistant is based on python and open source. It allows to control many home automation devices from different manufactures. These devices are used as Components. For these components you can create automations which can be executed automatically in case triggers and conditions (Trigger) are matched. For example you can play music automatically when you get home. The section Components gives you an overview about which devices Home Assistant supports (e.g. Sonos). Systems similar to Home Assistant are openHAB, ioBroker and FHEM.

Read more →

Krausmueller.de

Ansible Rolle hass für die Installation von Home Assistant

Wie im letzte Artikel beschrieben verwende ich die manuelle Installation von Home Assistant. Um ein System schnell wieder herstellen zu können kann Ansible verwendet werden. Dazu habe ich eine Rolle erstellt. Diese ist als Github Repository verfügbar. Im gleichen Repository finden sich (in naher Zukunft) noch andere Rollen die für eine Home Assistant Installation sinnvoll sein können. Eine Beschreibung der Variablen befindet sich in der README.

Weiterlesen →

Vorstellung Home Assistant und Installationsvarianten

Mein Einstieg in die Heimautomatisierung war die Messung von Temperaturen und später die Schaltung von Steckdosen per 433 MHz Funk (diese und diese). Um die Werte zu betrachten und die Steckdosen zu schalten habe ich mit Python einen eigenen kleinen Webserver geschrieben. Für richtige Automatisierungen bietet es sich jedoch an ein bereits bestehendes System zu benutzen. Meine Wahl fiel auf Home Assistant.

Screenshot meiner Home Assistant Installation

Home Assistant ist ein auf Python basierendes Open Source System mit dem viele Produkte zur Heimautomatisierung unterschiedlicher Hersteller in einem System zentral gesteuert werden können. Die verschiedenen Produkte werden als Components eingebunden. Für diese können dann z.B. Automatisierungen erstellt werden. Beim Eintreten von Bedingungen (Trigger) können diese automatisch ausgeführt werden. So kann z.B. automatisch Musik gestartet werden, wenn man nach Hause kommt. Die Seite Components gibt einen Überblick über die Geräte die eingebunden werden können. Mit der Suche kann man schauen ob bereits vorhandene Produkte unterstützt werden und erhält die passende Dokumentation (z.B. Sonos). Ähnliche Systeme sind z.B. openHAB, ioBroker oder FHEM.

Weiterlesen →