Krausmueller.de

Ansible role hass for installing Home Assistant

As described in the last article I use the manual installation of Home Assistant. To get a system up and runing very quick I prefer to use Ansible. For the installatino of Home Assistant I wrote a role. You can find my Ansible role on Github. In the same repository (in the near future) you can also find some other roles which might be useful when installing Home Assistant. The variables whcih can be used to configure the role are described in the README of the role.

Read more →

Introduction to Home Assistant and installation variants

My first encounter with home automation was to measure temperatures and later switching power sockets working with 433 MHz radio these and these). To be able to view the temperatures and to control the outlets I wrote a small web server in python. But To do real home automation it is better to use a system which is already used by many people and you have some kind of community who can help you if there are problems. My choice for this is Home Assistant.

Screenshot meiner Home Assistant Installation

Home Assistant is based on python and open source. It allows to control many home automation devices from different manufactures. These devices are used as Components. For these components you can create automations which can be executed automatically in case triggers and conditions (Trigger) are matched. For example you can play music automatically when you get home. The section Components gives you an overview about which devices Home Assistant supports (e.g. Sonos). Systems similar to Home Assistant are openHAB, ioBroker and FHEM.

Read more →

Dynamc DNS client for IPv6

Dynamic DNS is used to automatically update the DNS record of a host which IP changes often. This allows you to provide web services from a host at home behind your personal (V)DSL connection with a non-changing name. There are several providers for DDNS. I use SPDyn. The update of the DNS record is handled by a client like ddclient or directly by your router (e.g. Fritzbox). For IPv4 this is easy. The IP is always the external IP of the router which forwards ports to hosts on your local network. Since my ISP uses Dual-Stack and also provides me IPv6 I created an AAAA-record in the past pointing to the IPv6 address of my local host. When doing so I didn’t realise my ISP changes the IPv6 prefix with every reconnect. Because of this the IPv6 address of my local host changes quite regularly and the AAAA-record created got invalid. I noticed this due to an error when renewing a Let’s Encrypt certificate (post about acme-tiny).

If an AAAA-record is available Let’s Encrypt prefers it for validation of the domain (API Announcements). Because my AAAA-record was not valid anymore the renewal of the certificate threw an error:

Parsing account key...
Parsing CSR...
Registering account...
Already registered!
Verifying domain.com...
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "acme_tiny.py", line 199, in 
    main(sys.argv[1:])
  File "acme_tiny.py", line 195, in main
    signed_crt = get_crt(args.account_key, args.csr, args.acme_dir, log=LOGGER, CA=args.ca)
  File "acme_tiny.py", line 150, in get_crt
    domain, challenge_status))
ValueError: domain.com challenge did not pass: {u'status': u'invalid', u'validationRecord': [{u'addressesResolved': [u'217.251.47.207', u'2003:86:2455:9c00:d1:3ff:fe81:bd3f'], u'url': u'http://domain.com/.well-known/acme-challenge/PDUNtwiHq5dncDrvs4V2NE9nSR9vLF2WhnAbX1jQ7f0', u'hostname': u'domain.com', u'addressesTried': [], u'addressUsed': u'2003:86:2455:9c00:d1:3ff:fe81:b46f', u'port': u'80'}], u'keyAuthorization': u'PDUNtwiHq5dncDrvs4V2NE9nSR9vLF2WhnAbX1jQ7f0.YW7Ac9LxjjuWvWzD542ZzSKxcFKDIdehVVzAuYA0vHI', u'uri': u'https://acme-v01.api.letsencrypt.org/acme/challenge/-yjij3RP1r4YC_TkQrUemgjhfWI17pQZSjMZ8kr-Lps/1441804350', u'token': u'PDUNtwiHq5dncDrvs4V2NE9nSR9vLF2WhnAbX1jQ7f0', u'error': {u'status': 400, u'type': u'urn:acme:error:connection', u'detail': u'Fetching http://domain.com/.well-known/acme-challenge/PDUNtwiHq5dncDrvs4V2NE9nSR9vLF2WhnAbX1jQ7f0: Timeout'}, u'type': u'http-01'}

You can see the IPv6 address is used when looking at addressUsed. Because the address is invalid a timeout is reached.

To correct this and be able to access my local host via IPv6 in addition to the A-record for IPv4 the AAAA-record for IPv6 also has to be updated.

Read more →

Transfer rate when accessing Samba share from Mac OS X

I use my Cubietruck as a Samba server. Some day I noticed the transfer rate when copying files from my Mac with OS X El Captian was only around 10 MB/s. As the Cubietruck has a gigabit ethernet port the transfer rate should be much higher. I also remembered the transfer rate to be around 30 MB/s in the past. Not as fast as gigabit can deliver but I guess CPU load is a factor here.

Read more →

PowerShell Scripts with WhatIf

Sometimes you want to simulate the execution of a PowerShell script. Instead of actually doing the things defined in the script you just want to see what would have been done. Many Cmdlets understand the parameter -WhatIf. If you use it e.g. when creating a directory it actually will not be created. Instead you get a message describing what would have been done:

1
New-Item -ItemType Directory -Name "test" -Path "c:\temp" -WhatIf
PS C:\> New-Item -ItemType Directory -Name "test" -Path "c:\temp" -WhatIf
What if: Performing the operation "Create Directory" on target "Destination: C:\temp\test".

Read more →

Krausmueller.de

Ansible Rolle hass für die Installation von Home Assistant

Wie im letzte Artikel beschrieben verwende ich die manuelle Installation von Home Assistant. Um ein System schnell wieder herstellen zu können kann Ansible verwendet werden. Dazu habe ich eine Rolle erstellt. Diese ist als Github Repository verfügbar. Im gleichen Repository finden sich (in naher Zukunft) noch andere Rollen die für eine Home Assistant Installation sinnvoll sein können. Eine Beschreibung der Variablen befindet sich in der README.

Weiterlesen →

Vorstellung Home Assistant und Installationsvarianten

Mein Einstieg in die Heimautomatisierung war die Messung von Temperaturen und später die Schaltung von Steckdosen per 433 MHz Funk (diese und diese). Um die Werte zu betrachten und die Steckdosen zu schalten habe ich mit Python einen eigenen kleinen Webserver geschrieben. Für richtige Automatisierungen bietet es sich jedoch an ein bereits bestehendes System zu benutzen. Meine Wahl fiel auf Home Assistant.

Screenshot meiner Home Assistant Installation

Home Assistant ist ein auf Python basierendes Open Source System mit dem viele Produkte zur Heimautomatisierung unterschiedlicher Hersteller in einem System zentral gesteuert werden können. Die verschiedenen Produkte werden als Components eingebunden. Für diese können dann z.B. Automatisierungen erstellt werden. Beim Eintreten von Bedingungen (Trigger) können diese automatisch ausgeführt werden. So kann z.B. automatisch Musik gestartet werden, wenn man nach Hause kommt. Die Seite Components gibt einen Überblick über die Geräte die eingebunden werden können. Mit der Suche kann man schauen ob bereits vorhandene Produkte unterstützt werden und erhält die passende Dokumentation (z.B. Sonos). Ähnliche Systeme sind z.B. openHAB, ioBroker oder FHEM.

Weiterlesen →

Dynamischer DNS Client für IPv6

Dynamisches DNS wird genutzt um den DNS Eintrag für einen Host dessen IP sich regelmäßig und häufig ändert zu aktualisieren. Dies ermöglicht z.B. das Bereitstellen von Diensten hinter einem (V)DSL-Anschluss unter einem gleich bleibenden Namen. Es gibt mehrere Anbieter die einen solchen Dienst anbieten. Ich nutze z.B. SPDyn. Die Aktualisierung des DNS-Eintrags kann durch einen Client wie z.B. ddclient oder auch direkt über eine Fritzbox erfolgen. Für IPv4 Hosts ist das Verfahren einfach, die IP ist immer die des Routers der dann bestimmte Ports an interne Hosts weiterleitet (Portforwarding). Da ich von meinem Provider einen Dual-Stack Anschluss erhalten habe, hatte ich in der Vergangenheit auch einen AAAA-Record für IPv6 bei SPDyn angelegt. Worauf ich allerdings nicht achtete: mein Provider vergibt bei jedem Neuverbinden ein anderes IPv6 Präfix. Dadurch ändert sich also auch jedes mal die IPv6-Adresse meines internen Hosts. Aufmerksam auf diese Problematik wurde ich durch einen Fehler beim Erneuern meines Let’s Encrypt Zertifikats (vgl. Artikel zu acme-tiny).

Wenn ein AAAA-Record vorhanden ist bevorzugt Let’s Encrypt seit kurzem diesen um die Domain zu verifizieren (API Announcements). Da mein vor langer Zeit angelegter AAAA-Record sich mittlerweile (schon oft) geändert hat, schlug das Erneuern des Zertifikats also fehl.

Parsing account key...
Parsing CSR...
Registering account...
Already registered!
Verifying domain.com...
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "acme_tiny.py", line 199, in 
    main(sys.argv[1:])
  File "acme_tiny.py", line 195, in main
    signed_crt = get_crt(args.account_key, args.csr, args.acme_dir, log=LOGGER, CA=args.ca)
  File "acme_tiny.py", line 150, in get_crt
    domain, challenge_status))
ValueError: domain.com challenge did not pass: {u'status': u'invalid', u'validationRecord': [{u'addressesResolved': [u'217.251.47.207', u'2003:86:2455:9c00:d1:3ff:fe81:bd3f'], u'url': u'http://domain.com/.well-known/acme-challenge/PDUNtwiHq5dncDrvs4V2NE9nSR9vLF2WhnAbX1jQ7f0', u'hostname': u'domain.com', u'addressesTried': [], u'addressUsed': u'2003:86:2455:9c00:d1:3ff:fe81:b46f', u'port': u'80'}], u'keyAuthorization': u'PDUNtwiHq5dncDrvs4V2NE9nSR9vLF2WhnAbX1jQ7f0.YW7Ac9LxjjuWvWzD542ZzSKxcFKDIdehVVzAuYA0vHI', u'uri': u'https://acme-v01.api.letsencrypt.org/acme/challenge/-yjij3RP1r4YC_TkQrUemgjhfWI17pQZSjMZ8kr-Lps/1441804350', u'token': u'PDUNtwiHq5dncDrvs4V2NE9nSR9vLF2WhnAbX1jQ7f0', u'error': {u'status': 400, u'type': u'urn:acme:error:connection', u'detail': u'Fetching http://domain.com/.well-known/acme-challenge/PDUNtwiHq5dncDrvs4V2NE9nSR9vLF2WhnAbX1jQ7f0: Timeout'}, u'type': u'http-01'}

In der Fehlerausgabe ist bei addressUsed zu sehen, dass eine IPv6-Adresse zur Überprüfung verwendet wird. Da die Adresse falsch ist kommt es zu einem Timeout.

Um diesen Fehler zu beheben und in Zukunft auch per IPv6 auf meinen Host zu Hause zugreifen zu können muss nicht nur der A-Record für IPv4 sondern eben auch der AAAA-Record für IPv6 bei einer Änderung aktualisiert werden.

Weiterlesen →

Geschwindigkeit bei Zugriff von Mac OS X auf Samba Share

Ich nutze meinen Cubietruck als Samba Server. Irgendwann fiel mir auf, dass die Geschwindigkeit beim Kopieren von meinem Mac mit OS X El Capitan nur knapp über 10 MB/s lag. Da der Cubietruck eine Gigabit-Netzwerkkarte hat, sollte das um einiges schneller gehen. Außerdem war ich der Meinung früher schon Werte um die 30 MB/s gesehen zu haben. Der Gigabit-Anschluss wäre damit zwar auch noch nicht ausgelastet, aber immerhin.

Weiterlesen →

PowerShell Scripte mit WhatIf

Manchmal ist es sinnvoll den Aufruf eines eigenen PowerShell Scripts nur zu simulieren. Statt die Aktionen wirklich auszuführen möchte man lediglich sehen was passieren würde. Viele Cmdlets unterstützen den Parameter -WhatIf. Benutzt man diesen z.B. beim Anlegen eines Verzeichnis wird dieses nicht erstellt, sondern lediglich die im Beispiel angezeigte Meldung ausgegeben:

1
New-Item -ItemType Directory -Name "test" -Path "c:\temp" -WhatIf
PS C:\> New-Item -ItemType Directory -Name "test" -Path "c:\temp" -WhatIf
What if: Performing the operation "Create Directory" on target "Destination: C:\temp\test".

Weiterlesen →